FIFA 2022 World Cup Start Date to be Moved Forward

Sports News: The FIFA 2022 World Cup may begin one day earlier than expected to allow hosts Qatar to take part in the opening match.

It was originally intended for the 2022 World Cup to begin on Monday, November 21, with the Group A match between Senegal and the Netherlands. However, FIFA intends to advance the start time by one day in order for hosts Qatar to host the opening match.

Currently, Qatar will play their opening match on Monday, November 21, versus Ecuador in Group A. This will be the third match of the competition. FIFA intends to move Qatar’s opening match to Sunday, November 20, thus that will change.

Although it hasn’t been officially announced and the FIFA Council Bureau is still seeking clearance, numerous reports [via Mirror] claim that it is merely a formality. The 2022 World Cup will be held from 20 November through 18 December if the new start date is approved.

The opening match of the tournament featured the four World Cup hosts from previous years. The opening match of the 2018 FIFA World Cup featured hosts Russia defeating Saudi Arabia. Hosts In the World Cup’s opening game, Brazil defeated Croatia.

The 2010 World Cup’s opening match pitted Mexico against the tournament’s hosts, South Africa. The hosts of the 2006 World Cup in Germany also took part in the opening match, which Die Mannschaft won over Costa Rica.

However, the opening match of the 2002 World Cup, which South Korea and Japan jointly hosted, did not feature either of the hosts. It was a match between Senegal and France, and the latter surprised the former by winning.

2022 World Cup Groups & Teams

current world champs French members of Group D. Group G includes Brazil, which is ranked top in FIFA. Argentina, led by Lionel Messi, is in Group C, while Portugal, led by Cristiano Ronaldo, is in Group H.

Group A 

Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal and Netherlands

Group B

England, IR Iran, USA and Wales

Group C

Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland

Group D

France, Australia, Denmark and Tunisia

Group E

Spain, Costa Rica, Germany and Japan

Group F

Belgium, Canada, Morocco and Croatia

Group G

Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland and Cameroon

Group H

Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay and Korea Republic

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: